Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Did you hear about the new "Move over" law? Similar to the double fine for speeding in a Construction Zone, it's to make it safer for Caltrans workers

There is a hoax email running around that the fine is 754 dollars, nope: http://urbanlegends.about.com/od/automobiles/a/move_over_law_ca.htm
and http://www.snopes.com/politics/traffic/moveover.asp both prove it was a hoax, and

it looks like the BS started here http://www.mbworld.org/forums/w211-amg/335730-move-over-law.html

The “Move Over/Slow Down” law, signed by Governor Arnold Schwarzenneger in October, adds Caltrans vehicles (with flashing amber warning lights) to the list of other emergency responder vehicles working roadside that require all motorists to move over or slow down when they see them. The revised law also removes a pre-existing 1/1/10 sunset date (when the law terminates), which now makes the safety protections permanent.
The previous law required motorists to only yield to law enforcement, emergency responders or tow truck operators who are working on the roadside.
The law does not apply when the vehicle with flashing warning lights is not adjacent to the freeway or is separated from the freeway by a protective physical barrier.
In California, violation of the new provision carries a fine of not more than $50. Comparing other states with similar laws, West Virginia has the steepest penalty: 60 days in jail and a $500 fine; Wisconsin’s penalty is a 15-day driver’s license suspension and a $40 fine.

No comments:

Post a Comment